Stephen D. Bechtel, Jr. Honored By American Association Of Engineering Societies

May 13, 1998 Stephen D. Bechtel, Jr., Bechtel's chairman emeritus, was honored by the American Association of Engineering Societies (AAES) with the 1997 National Engineering Award for his "outstanding contributions to our nation."
Established in 1979, the AAES National Engineering Award is presented on behalf of the engineering profession to those engineers whose leadership and accomplishments have particularly benefited humanity. Previous honorees include Neil Armstrong, William H. Pickering, and Robert Noyce.
For more information, see the AAES Web site.