Bechtel Engineers Named In UK's Top 50 Women In Engineering

23 June 2016 LONDON

Managing Director and Crossrail Project Manager Recognized for Industry Contribution 

The inaugural list of the UK’s Top 50 Women in Engineering has been published today on National Women in Engineering Day.  Two Bechtel senior, female engineers have been recognized for their contribution to the industry. The list, compiled by the Daily Telegraph in collaboration with the Women’s Engineering Society features the UK’s top influential female engineers chosen from some 900 nominations. Ailie MacAdam, managing director - Europe and Africa, Infrastructure, and Linda Miller, acting as project manager on Crossrail’s Farringdon station, are among the women honored.

“I am proud of my contribution to engineering in the UK and the opportunities I’ve had from Bechtel to work on some of the iconic infrastructure projects of our age, including St Pancras station, High Speed One and Crossrail,” said Ailie MacAdam. “We are committed to encouraging women into engineering careers and to keep them here, and this acknowledgement helps to inspire both our current and future colleagues.” 

“Over my time working for Bechtel, I have been delighted to see more women choosing careers in engineering, a trend we need to continue and to accelerate,” said Linda Miller. “I am humbled by this recognition.”  

Bechtel employs more than double UK average for women engineers. The company promotes a number of initiatives to make Bechtel an employer of choice for women. It is rolling out training to raise awareness of unconscious bias which continues to permeate the industry and has a company forum, [email protected], which provides an opportunity for male and female colleagues to share knowledge, perspectives, and experiences as well as to learn tools for success. Bechtel recently contributed content to the Open University ‘Return to STEM’ course and in 2015, the company won the United Kingdom’s prestigious Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) ‘Diversity Employer of the Year’ award.